Pedal Power ACT Annual Volunteer Awards 2015

Awards are presented at the annual general meeting (February 2015)

Annemarie Driver 1947-2015. Recipient of Pedal Power ACT Special Volunteer Award

Annemarie Driver 1947-2015. Recipient of Pedal Power ACT Volunteer Service Award

The Paul Truebridge Memorial Volunteer of the Year award

in recognition and celebration of the outstanding effort by a volunteer in the running of Pedal Power ACT and/or promoting cycling in the community:

John Smits for his outstanding work over recent years including managing the website calendar of events for more than ten years, the production of the ride calendar in each Canberra Cyclist magazine for the last five years and being the ride leader for the Sunday Wanderers fast group for more than five years.


Event of the Year award

for the event that have been successfully conducted by volunteers and/or introduced innovations to an event (new or ongoing):

Visit to Canberra by Timothy Papandreou (head of strategic planning at the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency) in June 2014 resulting in the Minister for Territory and Municipal Services and senior officials learning practical advice about practical options for promoting cycling – organised by Rodger Bacon and Jeff Ibbotson.


Leadership award

for the volunteer who has been a prominent and successful leader in some aspect of Pedal Power ACT activities:

Jane Brooks for her outstanding leadership and commitment as President over the last three years and in recognition of her contribution to the expansion and growth of Pedal Power ACT during her term of office.


Service awards

in recognition of giving excellent service to Pedal Power ACT and/or the cycling community in general:

Alasdair Sinclair for his valuable assistance in the office over many years.

Annemarie Driver for her sterling efforts in ride leader education, accreditation and coordination since its inception in 2010.


Volunteer Recognition awards

in recognition of conspicuous and worthwhile volunteer work in the interests of Pedal Power ACT and/or the cycling community in general:

Audi Minaulta for assisting greatly at the Lake Burley Griffin 50th Birthday Ride and in particular for managing the volunteers.

Eric Huttner for excellent performance of the role of Treasurerand financial adviser to Pedal Power ACT over recent years.

Peter LeMesurier for his ongoing commitment as a ride leader and for recruiting and mentoring new ride leaders.

John Widdup for the huge amount of time he dedicates to Pedal Power administrative and advocacy activities, event organisation and management, and dedication to all things Pedal Power ACT.


Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Pedal Power ACT membership

Pedal Power ACT is the largest cycling organisation in Australia’s Capital Territory.

We represent the interests of people who already ride bicycles and those who would like to.

We are all about supporting the community to be active and providing opportunities to do so.

Our rider's insurance covers members anytime they are on a bike, anywhere in the world - 24/7.

Become a member of Pedal Power

Latest news

Upcoming events