Pedal Power President and board members elected

Pedal Power President and board members elected

At the Pedal Power Annual General Meeting, Julie Polson was elected as your President.

Julie joined the Board in late 2018, filling a casual vacancy before being elected to the Board at the 2019 AGM.

She is a casual cyclist and is keen to promote the benefits of cycling to women and girls, however it fits into their busy lives: sport, commuting, social, bike packing etc. A keen sportswoman herself – in tennis and squash particularly – Julie lives and breathes the health benefits of being active and strongly supports the focus in Pedal Power’s mission on advancing health and wellbeing through cycling.

Julie was a senior executive in the federal government, working in the fields of information technology, data analysis, finance and policy. This background gives her a wide ranging skill set and knowledge basis from which to lead the Pedal Power Board.

As Julie reflected, “It’s a privilege and exciting challenge to step up to lead the Board. I look forward to working for all our members to deliver great services and benefits and continue Pedal Power’s role as the voice for cycling here in the ACT”.

We thank outgoing President Rosemary Dupont for three years of dedication and commitment as Pedal Power President. Three years is the maximum tenure for a Pedal Power president, and we are very fortunate to have had the benefit of Rosemary’s wisdom for the full term. We wish her every happiness in her next chapter. 

Welcome to our new Board Members

At this year’s Annual General Meeting we were delighted to welcome the election of three new and valued members to the Pedal Power Board.

Amanda Day is an active member of Pedal Power, enjoying social rides and trips, after learning to ride as an adult about ten years ago. She brings a wealth of experience in public health, leadership and risk management as well as skills developed from her role on other committees.

Paris Lord joined Pedal Power in 2020 and its advocacy team in 2021. He’s put his lengthy experience in communications, marketing, politics and journalism to good use in other volunteer roles in Canberra, including SEE-Change. And, Paris somehow also finds time to run leisurely guided cycling tours across the ACT.

Dr Jill Walker has been cycling for 60 years including as a commuter and a BMX competitor and is an accredited ride leader. Most of her working career involved competition law and economics, and continues to sit as a Member of the Australian Competition Tribunal. Jill has served in a range of voluntary committee roles across sporting, childcare and education.

Our new Board members join currently serving members: Julie Polson, Linda Laker and John Widdup.

Volunteer awards

We were delighted to announce the recipients of 2021’s volunteer awards:

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”2″ display=”basic_thumbnail”]